CPIT Māori and Pasifika Leadership Awards winners are off to Auckland

CPIT Māori and Pasifika Leadership Awards winners are off to Auckland

Eight outstanding Māori and Pasifika secondary school students are off to Auckland in December after being recognised with CPIT awards this week.

Recipients of the institute's 2015 CPIT Māori and Pasifika Leadership Awards will attend a Māori and Pasifika Leaders lunch and then have the once in a lifetime chance to see American talk show queen  Oprah Wifrey live at the show Oprah: An Evening with Oprah.

Organiser Sela Faletolu, Te Kaiwhakauru Pasifika at CPIT's Centre for Māori and Pasifika Achievement (CMPA), says the aim of the awards is to recognise the incredible leaders within our schools and to celebrate their great achievements.

"This is an opportunity to highlight our Māori and Pasifika students who are excelling in their fields, and demonstrating strong leadership within their communities. We hope that this will inspire our young people and our community to believe in their true potential.

"When they meet successful Māori and Pasifika leaders and then they get to see and hear someone as inspirational as Oprah Winfrey, they will understand that anything is possible for them. This is an experience they will always remember."

CPIT has previously held separate celebrations for Pasifika and Māori secondary student achievements, but Faletolu felt the trip to Auckland, with support from the CPIT Foundation and CPIT, would provide greater benefit. 

Faletolu said choosing the recipients across the four categories of academic achievement, excellence in community leadership, excellence in sporting performance and excellence in culture and performing arts was not easy.

"It was a tough decision for both the Māori and Pasifika panels to pick a total of only eight winners. We are so proud of the incredible leaders within our schools who have so much talent, show great diligence, and set such a wonderful example of what our Māori and Pacific secondary school students can aspire to become, and achieve."

The winners of the 2015 CPIT Māori and Pasifika Leadership Awards are as follows:


Māori Recipient


Danielle Hana George (Nga Puhi) from Burnside High School

Pasifika Recipient


Taylor Moore (Cook Island) from Shirley Boys' High School




Māori Recipient


Aimee-Chantelle Gough (Tainui) from Tamesanui High School


Pasifika Recipient


Sea Muaimalae (Sāmoan) also from Tamesanui High School




Māori Recipient


Suayd Hakaria (Kai Tahu) from Shirley Boy's High School


Pasifika Recipient


Martha Lolohea (Tongan) from Villa Maria College




Māori Recipient


Simone Pitama (Kai Tahu) from Rangiora High School


Pasifika Recipient


Mahlon Moevao (Sāmoan) from Papanui High School

To get in with us

Phone     0800 24 24 76

Email      [email protected]


Rakaia Centre Atrium, Madras Street Campus

там ry-diplomer.com

читайте здесь ry-diplomer.com